SPRINKLE CAKE

IMG_5892Asides from the birthday cupcakes I made for my sister that you can see on the prior posts I made her a sprinkle cake.  Now it was a lot simpler then I thought it would be but my mistake was I didn’t think I would have enough time to make it for her the day before so I made it 2 days in advance.  The cake is actually quick & easy to make once it is baked so you will most definitely have time right before presenting the cake.

To make this cake you need: funfetti, frosting, round rainbow sprinkles

After baking the cake let it cool.  If it is layered frost the layers together.  You can also frost a crumb coat if you would like.  I did. After the crumb coast I put the cake in the fridge for a little.  (Now I baked my cakes in disposal pans cause I couldnt find the size I wanted. This did not help the evenness of the cake so it did not come out as perfectly as I would of liked)

While the cake was in the fridge I emptied almost all the sprinkles into a pan.  Make sure it is kinda deep so the sprinkles dont bounce out everywhere.

I then frosted the SIDES of the cake as perfectly as I could. DO NOT frost the top of the cake yet.  Then pick up the cake by holding the top & bottom & roll the cake in the sprinkles. Then I put a bowl in the sprinkle pan & sat the cake on top of it.  I then used a spoon to put all the sprinkles of the top.  Then done, pretty easy isn’t it?

IMG_5877 IMG_5878 IMG_5881 IMG_5882 IMG_5888 IMG_5890I took a picture right before it was all sprinkled so you could see the process. But a few more spoonfuls of sprinkles & it was finished. The problem with my cake was after a few days the dye of the sprinkles leaked. But below is a picture on the day it was made.  I do have to admit though, that if all the dye leaked equally the cake would of looked pretty sick. IMG_5891IMG_6109 IMG_6121 IMG_6110 IMG_6111the cake was sooo good though we had to throw it away or we would of finished it

4 thoughts on “SPRINKLE CAKE”

Leave a Reply

